Uncategorized

Distracted by the details

​Luke 10:38-42

Do you say “yes” alot to service projects? Do you always seem to be busy running meals to someone or your home always seems to have guests over? I love these types of ways to show love to family and friends. I find myself signing up for things and not realizing I may be dragging my husband into it, that maybe God didn’t want him to serve in that type of capacity.

So here I see Martha, she invited Jesus into her house. Can you talk about the panic she might have had trying to clean everything so well beforehand? Or maybe she is a tidy person already..anyways I see her in this passage stressing out about getting the meal together, while her sister Mary sits at Jesus’ feet and listens to Him teaching.

I can only imagine Martha’s thoughts. “Why isn’t she in here helping me?!” “What was I thinking when I asked Jesus to come over?” “I wish I could just SIT down and someone else cook this meal and set the table.”

Martha works up the nerve to even approach Jesus and ask Him if he even CARES that Mary is avoiding the help. ..I do this sometimes to my husband. I invite people over and then get stressed about our house and it’s issues and all the cleaning that needs to be done, because maybe unlike Martha, my house is a disaster. My husband will gently remind me, it was my idea in the first place. 😒😬

But in all seriousness, getting back to this passage. I see Martha doing the same thing, except we don’t see what her reaction to Jesus’ response is.

He tells her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken from her.”

Ohhhh man…Jesus touché!

He is so right!! We worry about the dumbest little details when it comes to serving and yet Jesus says, but you missed the point! It’s not about you or your fancy details in whatever it is you are adding to this service…it’s about ME. It’s about learning who I AM and THAT can never be taken away.

Martha was distracted. Mary was focused on Jesus. In our service do we get too distracted by all we “have to do” and miss the “good part”? Asking Him to help me with this struggle today. ❤

Leave a Reply

