backslidden, christian living, encouragement, faith, God's Promises, God's purpose, idolatry, passion, peace, pursuits

He Restores and Redirects {Anchor of Promise #41}

Anchor of Promise #41 He Restores and Redirects

Isaiah 6 is a beautiful picture of God’s forgiveness of our paths of sin we choose and His redirection. Isaiah was able to see Heaven and God on His throne. Because of the view Isaiah had of God’s glory it caused him to feel unworthy to be in God’s presence because of his sin. He repented of his sins and was able to volunteer on a calling God had for his life.

IMG_20150806_073545This passage means a whole lot to me because as a personal testimony, I have recently come back to God. I for a while (without even noticing) had become numb to convictions of my sin of idolatry, covetousness, and pride. I was so entangled in “becoming someone” and it was done with the wrong motives. I was flirting with the idols that this world offers and got so distracted from what God was preparing me for. The day I realized what I was doing wrong was the day before Thanksgiving last year. God got a hold of my heart through a bible study on Moses and it was then that I realized He was pleading with me to stop what I was doing in my heart. On the outside I looked like I had it together. I could sing the right church songs, say the right answers in church but on the inside I was broken and falling apart. My relationship with God became almost a burden and I was repulsed by people who were on fire for God because I knew I had nothing to contribute to their conversation.  I struggled with my identity of who I wanted to be, who I thought I was, and who God actually says I am in Him. It was also then I crumbled into God’s arms and just cried my eyes out. He wants us to know our worth to Him. He wants us to know that He loves us too much to keep seeing us continue down the wrong path.

God showed me His original plan for my life and redirected my steps (Proverbs 3:5,6- “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding but in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.”) and now all I want to do is tell others of His amazing love, grace, forgiveness, and 2nd chances! When we get “real” with God and allow Him to pinpoint in our hearts the things that need fixing, it can be the most overwhelming and humbling prayer. The pursuit of God is the most fulfilling, thrilling and humbling things you can ever experience! I am not even where I want to be spiritually but each day I try and make the choice to seek Him. I say all this to be transparent and not to say “look at me”. I hope this encouraged you if you are in the same boat I used to be in spiritually. God doesn’t want to compete with your heart. He wants all of your heart and desires and He will use you for His glory. He WANTS to use you and continually asks “who will go for us?”. My desire is to point you to Jesus and all that He did for you and I , so that you can happily say “Here am I Lord, Send me!”

I encourage you today to read Isaiah 6 and ask God to direct your heart to where He is calling you to. Get rid of the distractions and the worldy desires you have for your life and fill your heart with God’s promises and you’ll notice a change in your pursuits, passions, and desires! I promise!

Leave a Reply

