God's Grace, Strong Willed children, Teething toddlers

God Hears My Cries {Anchor of Promise #35}

Anchor of Promise #35 God Hears My Cries

Psalm 119:169- ” Let my cry come before You, O Lord, Give me understanding according to your Word.”

Psalm 121: 1,2- ” I will lift up my eyes to the hills- from whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth.”

The past several days have been the most difficult for me as a parent. And I say this in a not so dramatic way. I know that other parents have it harder than I do. I just know each of us has an almost breaking point as a parent. For me I have experienced a little bit of that this week.

Running on an average of 3 hours of sleep each night since the weekend, I really have been trying to catch myself before I over react because I know lack of sleep is a factor on my short nerve endings. After I got my kids down for a nap yesterday, I went outside and sat in our screened in porch and just cried my eyes out. I felt so overwhelmed by so many emotions..see even I can forget to cast my anchor into Jesus.. I turned on Pandora and the first song I heard was “You Raise Me Up”. Of course I then turned into a big cry baby myself and just felt awful for my behavior. I prayed that God would help me have peace and stop taking all my son’s wrong actions to heart. Have I slipped up today with my reactions? Yes, I am human and to be very transparent with you, my whole day did not start out with God’s word, hence why this anchor of promise is late…

Why do we allow ourselves to get so stressed out over things? I seriously have been struggling with this, this week. I never want to come off in my blogs that I have it all down, or never am rocked by my emotions. I am a real human and fail at trusting in God sometimes. I want to encourage you reading this if you struggle with emotions when your children don’t listen or just have one of those annoying days, to remember to lift up your eyes because your help comes from above.

We can vent about our difficulties, stresses, and hardships to people. But God is the only one who can relieve that stress and burden of being overwhelmed. The beautiful promise God gives us is that He hears our cries and wants to help us! All we have to do is lift up our eyes and seek His face. Keep these verses close to you this week and try to catch yourself from over reacting with your kids or whoever is giving you a hard time. Hang in there, you got this! 🙂

1 thought on “God Hears My Cries {Anchor of Promise #35}”

  1. Jesus said in John 16:33 “…In this world you will have trouble. But take heart I have overcome the world.” Peace is possible with Jesus during the troubles. Peace be to you as you handle the very difficult problems of parenthood. Great wisdom and great love. Your mention of Ps 119:169 is a hope for me tonight. I trust Jesus to hear my cry also. Still about the parenthood role even to three generations. But God has promised faithfulness to all generations who look to Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

