blessing, career paths, christian living, Decisions, faith, Jesus

Ever Walk on Water? {Anchor of Promise #27}

Anchor of Promise #27 With God all things are Possible!

img-thingOne of the biggest struggles I have had in my journey through life is knowing God’s will or plans for my life. Do you ever question “What is God’s will for my life?” You may have started things and found no peace while doing it because that is God’s way of showing you that wasn’t meant for you. I can attest to this because since I left college in 2007, I was searching in what God wanted me to do as a career. I was in school for Graphic Design and left because I couldn’t handle 35+ hours of working on top of 16-18 credit hours plus many hours to do the artwork. I struggled and allowed the stresses to make me quit and pursue cosmetology, which ended very quickly. Now I am a stay at home mom, which I never wanted to be before marriage. But I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

It is funny how it all has circled back around. I want to pursue finishing my Graphic Design major online and do what I was created to do. I love to write and use art to bring people to love Jesus more. The point of this short “biography” is to show you when God calls you out to something, we need to follow without being distracted by the negative and doubt His calling.

Today we will take a look at the story of Peter walking on the water to Jesus. I love this story because of just how many little details in it reveal Jesus’ power and character.

Matthew 14:22-33– is the account of this story. I encourage you to read it!

Jesus just fed a multitude of people using one little boy’s lunch. Jesus wanted to get alone with His 12 disciples so He told them to get in a boat and start heading to the other side of the sea where He would meet up with them once the multitudes Amédée_Varint_-_Christ_marchant_sur_la_merleft. It says that after the multitudes did leave, Jesus went to the top of a mountain and prayed. While it was evening the boat the disciples were in now was in the middle of the sea and a great storm came. Jesus decided to walk out on the water to them around the 4th watch of the night (or 3am). So this whole time Jesus allowed the disciples to be tossed in the storm. God allows “storms” to happen in our lives but never leaves us alone to fend for ourselves. He walked out to them on the water and they were so afraid. They began to cry out, “It’s a ghost!”, but as you can see in verse 27, Jesus replies “Be of good cheer! It is I;do not be afraid!” I love how He tells them to be happy. Here they have been rowing for hours in the middle of the sea, during a storm and He says “be happy!” But isn’t it comforting to know that when we get tossed in and out of storms that God reminds us, “Be of good cheer I am here!”

Peter asked Jesus to command him to come out of the boat, if He were truly the Son of God and not a ghost.
jesus-walking-on-water-benjamin-mcphersonThis is almost where I was a few months back. I felt God’s calling on my life to pursue art and writing again, and it was as if I was in a boat and asking the same thing! “God if you really want me to do this, then ask me to!” What did Jesus say in verse 29? “Come.”

Peter stepped out of the boat and both his feet stood on top of the water. Can you imagine this scene? It is so dark out being so early in the morning with waves tossing everyone around and yet Peter is calm getting out of the boat. He realizes Jesus’ power and trusts that He can do the impossible when Jesus calls Him out.

We don’t know how long Peter walked on the water for, or how far away Jesus was from the boat. But we do see that Peter took his focus off of Jesus and looked around at the storm on the water. He was distracted by fear and doubt which made him start to sink. (verse 30) He cried out to Jesus “save me!” peter_sinking_in_water1

Have you ever seen a water rescue? I can only imagine how hard it is for a rescue team to pull someone out of the water during a storm and here we see Jesus in verse 31, immediately reaches down His arm (singular) and pulls Peter back up on top of the water. He asks Peter one of the most humbling questions, we all probably have been asked by God.

“O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” The same faith that Peter had to have to walk on the water is the same faith we need in God to perform the tasks He has commanded us to do. Peter had an advantage and saw Jesus, but it still took faith to step out of the boat. I love how it says too that Jesus and Peter got into the boat. So to me it seems that they had to walk back together. Once they did get in the boat the storm ceased and other disciples told Jesus, “Truly You are the Son of God.” It was obvious that night image59that Jesus was Who He claimed to be.

When God calls you to a task, career change, etc is your focus and faith so fixed on Him that #1 you can hear His call and #2 you obey right away? Keep your focus on His plan for your life. He promises us just like we saw yesterday, that when we fully trust in Him He will give us perfect peace! (Isaiah 26:3,4)

Step out of the boat onto the waves, and walk by faith to Jesus. He is calling you out of your circumstances and storms to trust in Him for whatever He has placed on your heart. And when you do that, He will bless you!

2 thoughts on “Ever Walk on Water? {Anchor of Promise #27}”

Leave a Reply

