Careers, christian living, Gratefulness, Jobs, joy, personality types

Why Does It Matter? It’s Not Like Anyone Says: ‘THANK YOU’ {Anchor of Promise #22}

Anchor of Promise #22 God Will Reward You

xDISC-Personality-Breakdown.jpg.pagespeed.ic.IpAvVBGxElHave you ever studied the different personalities?(DISC) I find it so amazing how each one of us are unique but can have the same personality characteristics. I found that my personality is in between an “S” and “C”. I have added a photo for you to see what type you may be. I’d love to hear what your personality type is!

The reason for this is because someone like me wants to be accepted or acknowledged for good behavior or things I do. And today’s anchor has really helped me realize over the years that doing things for man’s approval or praise will not fulfill that longing or desire of approval.

There are days as a stay-at-home Mom that I feel like ‘is what I am doing mounting to anything?’ When I worked in corporate America I had a job that I had good knowledge of, I was organized and could complete tasks in timely order and was always told I did a good job. Hard work is something I can do and enjoy to do. But as a Mom you are not told “Hey great job cleaning up that throw up!” or “hey way to pick up those cheerios for the 4th time today!” because its just part of being a mom. This next verse really helped me see my “tasks” through the lenses of Jesus.

“And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.” Colossians 3:17

I had to relearn that my audience is an audience of One in WHATEVER I was doing. Every task, every mundane house originalchore, every spilled cheerio was to be done unto God. I think my personality type thrives on positive feedback to keep going. But there are other personality types that would think “why should you get a pat on the back for doing your job. Or doing what you are supposed to be doing in the first place?” 

Everything you are doing is not unnoticed. It may be unnoticed by a human standpoint, but God sees everything. He sees all the hard work you put into your family, your job, your house etc. God promises us that if we do our jobs for Him and His glory that we will be rewarded.

“And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men. knowing  that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.” Colossians 3:23-24

Paul was relating the “slave/master” theme in this chapter, and when we look at bond-servant, they were slaves that wanted to serve their master because they loved him! We are bond-servants of Christ and we should be serving Him with joy and knowing that although we may not see the blessing on this side of Heaven, one day we will be rewarded by God. Not that being rewarded should be the motive to serve God, because He knows the heart, but that should make it a little easier to do the “behind the scenes” work that no one sees but God. involve God

Colossians 3:9-10 “Put off the old man with his deed, and have put on the new man who is renewed in knowledge according to the image of Him who created Him.”

I have to daily die to my “old man” desires of pride, acceptance, and complaining about my God-given jobs. It’s exhausting to try and live a life for the approval of man. Your job, whatever it is, is important and God knew that you would be the perfect fit for that job! Seek to have the approval of God by doing every little task today with a happy heart which will reflect in your speech and walk. (Colossians 4:5-6)

So what personality type are you?

1 thought on “Why Does It Matter? It’s Not Like Anyone Says: ‘THANK YOU’ {Anchor of Promise #22}”

  1. Sorry I’m not looking up the scripture but there is one that tells us to “provoke one another to good works.” That is what your blog does. Encourage, motivates, inspires. Okay, the reference is Hebrews 10:24. What do you call my personality type! Just can’t left the job unfinished!

    Like

Leave a Reply

