beauty, christian living, God, identity, Self-image, self-worth

Who do you think YOU are? Anchor of Promise #20

Anchor of Promise #20 My Worth is EVERYTHING to Jesus

Ever since I was a middle schooler, I struggled with self-image. Not only did I have to inherit getting glasses for my eyes, but braces for my teeth. I was so skinny people laug20150707_083039hed at me and thought I had eating disorders. I started wearing make up around 8th grade and when I got to college I was always coloring my hair. I never felt pretty or that anyone ever noticed me. Until I met my husband then the rest is history.

The point I want to make is that our lack of self-worth can limit us in what we can do in our life for God and others. The physical image sometimes is not what the world says is “beautiful”, but who gets to decide that anyways? If you struggle with your self-worth or your self-image like I had for many years, actually until almost recently, then I encourage you to claim this anchor of promise today as your own!

I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation androbe arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.- Isaiah 61:10

I absolutely love this verse. God sees us (whether male or female) as His bride. He loves us and gives us the best. He takes us in as who we are and cleans us up, and clothes us in righteousness! He does the work not us! This verse came to my mind this morning, as I was sitting in my chair at the desk praying, I put my robe on around me because I was cold, and it hit me for the first time. I am arrayed in a robe of righteousness! Isn’t it amazing how God teaches us literal meaning sometimes? It broke me down to tears of thankfulness of finally understanding this meaning. My worth to God is everything when this robe of righteousness is put on! What is the robe of righteousness? The Salvation that Jesus offers is our righteousness because again we all come short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23), but because of what Jesus did on the cross as our payment for our sin, when we accept this by faith as our payment for our sins, we are “clothed in righteousness”. When God sees me, He doesn’t see the good things I have done, instead He sees this robe of righteousness that gives Him approval of my life.

Once you accept Jesus as your Savior, the bible says you are an heir to Christ!

“The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs-heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ.”- Romans 8:16-17a

Isn’t it a profound thought to think that we are heirs of the King of Kings? The awesome thing about it too is that we don’t have to wait to be “summoned” by the King to talk to Him either! “For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, ‘Abba, Father’.”- Romans 8:15

In this text “Abba, Father” is like saying “Daddy, Daddy!” We get to cry out to God in this intimate language like a child would to his father!

2015-07-07_07.45.02I have a notebook I started back when my life started turning around for the Lord last year. It’s entitled “Who Am I?”. I tell you what if you need some self confidence this is the best way to do it! It is filled with bible verses that I can claim in my moments of weakness or lack of self-worth..I feel more confident, not in myself like a proud person, but just confident that when Satan whispers lies in my ears about who I think I am, that I can swat them away like misquitos. And claim truths from God’s word, of who HE says I am. 

You may feel invisible, or that no one cares. But just remember, that your worth is not up to people to say who you are. Your worth isn’t what you think you are..(because most of the time our self-worth/image is low)..Your worth is what GOD says you are in Him! And to Him you are precious, beautiful, lovely, forgiven, adored like a Bridegroom adores his bride, His child, and someone worth dying for! I challenge you to write out some verses to claim and if you have to literally put on a robe to understand this concept like me, do it! God wants you to see just how much you mean to Him!

1 thought on “Who do you think YOU are? Anchor of Promise #20”

Leave a Reply

