anxiety, christian living, fear, God's Promises, joy, Truth, worry

I am Fearless! {Anchor of Promise #18}

Anchor of Promise #18 I can be FEARLESS

My 3 year old son went through a phase where he was afraid of the drapes in his room at night because the air coming out of the vent below them, moved the drapes. Each night I had to show him the vent and let him feel the air and reassure him that there wasn’t a monster behind the drapes. We went as far as quoting what the Bible has to say about being fearless and that seemed to help him. I’d ask “Brock what does God say about being afraid?” He would reply “Don’t be afraid I’m with you always!” Does he truly grasp that concept yet? I don’t think so but it seemed to calm him down.

Today we live in a world where wrong is right and right is looked at as hateful. We stand for truth and are looked at as a hate group or have no compassion on people. The news is full of a one sided commentary of what is going on and most of the time “fear” is a tactic that is used.  without-god-i-am-hopeless-with-god-i-am-fearless-quote-1Just listen to the way they describe the weather (just mentioning snow here in VA panics people to flock to the stores! Kind of humorous.)

Today let’s look at an awesome promise from God that deals with fear.

Psalm 56:3-4: “Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You. In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh (or man) do to me?”

When you place your trust in Jesus to protect you and to sustain you, fear is not present in your life.  I had a time where I feared so much and worried about the bad things that were going on in the world, and now that my anchor of trust is placed in Jesus and not in circumstances, my fear is disabled.

I am human and yes I will worry from time to time. But when I see stuff on the news or hear about certain laws being passed etc. I am not shaken. I know that this world is supposed to get worse before Jesus returns, and so instead of “fearing” I can show the light of Jesus to the world and inspire and encourage.

(“You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” -1 John 4:4)

Don’t be afraid of what is going on in the world. God can always bring a revival and it starts with each one of us! He has already overcome the world so there is no need for us to panic or think that God is surprised with what is happening!

Throw your anchor of fear to the One Who can make you FEARLESS.

Leave a Reply

