christian living, faith, fear, God, Jesus, Obedience, prayer, Trust

Anchor of Promise #11 God Never Withholds Good From Us

“For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withhold From those who walk uprightly.” Psalm 84:11

“O taste and see that the Lord is good; Blessed is the man who trusts in Him!”- Psalm 34:8

I love these two verses that were in my reading time this morning. Over the course of about 6 or 7 years, trusting in God was one of my weaknesses. I remember being so stressed out over things or worrying, and my husband would tell me that God is taking care of us and that I needed to trust in Him.538b62eb3f84b3a683af318cfd001c77

Trust doesn’t happen over night. Breaking someone’s trust can, but building trust for someone takes proof. I am not sure why I needed more and more proof of God’s provision. I still somewhat lack confidence in it by the way I allow fears or worry to creep in. But now knowing scripture that backs up God’s “proof” I can exterminate those thoughts that creep into my mind which steal my trust and joy in God.

In the first verse we see the author says God is a “sun and shield”. According to my concordance, the author loved going to the temple to worship God. He knew God would be dwelling there and would bless and protect (sun and shield) and bestow favor and good things on those who would walk blamelessly. The prerequisite for receiving God’s blessings is TRUST.

1003910_409312259179569_697771254_nIn the second verse, David (the author) was expressing that those who trust in the Lord experience genuine happiness-if they taste and see. All who fear the Lord (genuine reverence), will lack NOTHING, or no good thing.

It is so important that we who claim to follow Jesus, to fully trust in Him. Faith and trust are what keep us bound to God’s promises. If our trust wavers, what does that show to those who don’t believe in God?  He promises to bless us once we have genuinely thrown out the anchor of Tru st onto Him. He is faithful when we are unfaithful, but He desires us to remain faithful in our pursuit of seeking Him.

Do you fully trust in God for your good? That no matter what happens in your life, your anchor of trust is so secure in God, that you only see the blessing in the storms? It’s easier said then done. A great way to see those “proofs” is to keep a prayer journal and write also when that prayer is answered! You will see just how much God truly wants to bless you and cares for your needs.

Leave a Reply

