anxiety, christian living, doubt, faith, fear, God, help, joy, prayer, Relief, stress, Trouble, worry

Peace In The Middle of Storms of Life. Anchor of Promise #10

Anchor of Promise #10- God helps in times of trouble

“God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble.”- Psalm 47:1

I’m not sure what you have gone through, or if you are dealing with a situation right now. All I know is for some reason this morning, God had me open to this scripture passage and read others like it to gain a little more understanding of this promise so I can encourage you.psa-46-1-ww-stock-900x600

There are things that come up in our lives that overwhelm us. We automatically have a sense of fear or even doubt that anything could possibly fix our problem and just “hold on for impact”. This is not the mindset God wants us to have who say “I trust in Him.”

I love how the Psalmist put emphasis on God being “a VERY PRESENT help”. He could have just said “He is a help”, but instead wanted us to grasp that God is quick to come and “rescue” us in that MOMENT of distress.

Verse 10 tells us to “Be still and know that I am God.” almost like God is saying, “Listen, I created the heavens and the earth. I formed you and have kept you alive only wanting what is best for you. There are things you cannot understand that I do, and you would be baffled if I allowed you to see the things I keep hidden from you. So just relax, I got this and have never let you down before! Just be still and remember, I am your helper and right now I am seeing you through this! There is nothing too big for me to handle!”

So how do we get rid of this “fear” or “worry” in our current circumstance? Great question! I have to daily remind myself that each day is created by God Who: Wants only my best, wants me to seek Him every morning, wants to supply my needs and be my helper in times of trouble. And loves me unconditionally that no matter how I fail Him, He remains faithful to His promises for me! img_2805

Throw this anchor of desperation out of your boat and let it take hold of the One Who can actually fix the situation. Seek the Lord for guidance and to give you peace! (“Be anxious for NOTHING, but IN EVERYTHING by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God: and THE PEACE of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”- Philippians 4:6,7) You see when we seek God and tell Him our problems, He isn’t just like a friend who is a great listener and that’s it. HE DOES SOMETHING about it! He gives you a peace that surpasses what you could possibly understand about this situation.

There were times I would get so stressed or worried about things, that I would cry myself to sleep. I love this verse and today I came across it again.( “Weeping my endure for a night, But JOY comes in the morning.”- Psalm 30:5) Allow God to fill you with joy by casting on Him your troubles and burdens. The sense of peace that will overwhelm you will just burst out of you in joy!

God may not answer your prayer right away, or you may not feel like He is doing anything about your situation. He is and He promises that He is currently working on your behalf!

“Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord!- Psalm 27:14

1 thought on “Peace In The Middle of Storms of Life. Anchor of Promise #10”

Leave a Reply

