advice on positive thinking, Bible, christian living, faith, God, happiness, help, joy, love, Promises of God, Trials

Why Are You Always Smiling?! Anchor of Promise #8

Can you believe it’s already been a week since we have started these Anchor’s of Promise? My prayer for this is that you will look beyond my words and see for yourself in the Bible when I lay out the reference. I can give my own opinions all day long but that doesn’t matter. What matters is that the TRUTH is revealed and that I stay on track to that truth.

Anchor of Promise #8 – Jesus Completes My Joy

jftj2When I looked into the word “Joy”, it hit me that joy is not just a “feeling”. It doesn’t just come and go like weather. We will hit on the word “love” in a few days, but joy is a lot like love. It is steadfast and remains unwavering. “so why am I feeling sad?” or “why don’t I always find joy in everything?” Those are questions I had to ask myself too! But it all boils down to that picture of the anchor. What is your anchor set in? If it is set firmly in the Rock of Jesus, who is JOY and LOVE etc, then you will always have that perfect love and joy no matter what circumstance you find yourself in. Jesus even found joy on the cross! Goodness, let’s just get started because I am getting ahead of myself.

John 15:11- ” These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be FULL.”

If we look at the verses that were before this promise we will see that Gal-522-redo
Jesus is talking about how He is “the vine” and we are “the branches”. We can do nothing on our own, but rather can “bare fruit” because we are connected to Him. (Fruit meaning we produce evidence that we are following Jesus. I encourage you to check out the Fruit of the Spirit, which is found in Galatians 5:22)

He tells us that if we abide in Him we also abide in God, because He (Jesus) abides in God. Kind of a tongue twister but it’s also a promise! It brings God pleasure when we live in obedience and glorify Him with our lives.

Verse 11 then is the promise. If we abide in Jesus and are obeying Him, our joy will be made complete! Jesus had great joy in pleasing His Father by living a fruitful life. Hebrews 12:2- “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith, who for the JOY that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  In our Sunday School, we have studied this text before and I have next to this verse a quote from our Sunday School Teacher, Mr. Shultz. “Jesus looked beyond the cross to see the joy.”

You see, even Jesus’ anchor was so set in God’s will. He knew the pain and shame He was about to endure, but looking ahead He saw you and I that would choose Him and it brought a smile to His face. He willingly died for you and for me.

The purpose of Jesus’ teaching of this “vine and branches” theme is to give man an abundant life, not a joyless existence. His command to us is to obey for our Joy. Just like a parent finds joy when the house is in order and children are listening. There is just more of a joy in the house because there is obedience. Same goes here.

Is your anchor’s grip strong on the rock of Jesus, that nothing in this life can make your joy waver? Can you look past your current circumstance and have faith that God knows what He is doing, and that He has your best in mind? If you struggle with this type of Joy, then pray and ask God to remove your anchor from the trial that keeps tossing you around, and to secure it in His arms. This allows you to remain stable, obedient, and full of joy.

(used help from “The Bible Knowledge Commentary”)

This print is still available in my etsy shop! I love how it greets me each day and reminds me of the many promises of God that we will hit on! http://www.etsy.com/shop/anchoredinchrist619
2015-06-17_19.40.35IMG_20150622_130609

Leave a Reply

