christianity, deliverence, endurance, faith, freedom, God, hardships, help, hope, Jesus, patience, positive mindset

“Had a bad day againnn.” Anchor of Promise #3

Romans 8:28-” And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

Anchor Promise #3 is “God makes all things work together for our good.”cslewis

Good and bad days all make up what we call life. Why is it that we always somehow remember and reflect more on our bad days “where EVERYTHING goes wrong”. Why is a negative mindset so easy to feed sometimes?

I love this promise from God because it shows that on the good days when we feel like we are soaring in the clouds He is working for good on our behalf. Better yet, even on the not so good, terrible, horrible days He STILL is working it out for our good!

I think back on the story of Joseph and how his brothers sold him into slavery, and God used his dream telling to win the heart of Pharaoh who made him the 2nd highest ruler. When his brothers came from their land to beg of Pharaoh for food to take back to their drought stricken land, who were they really in front of? Joseph! And they had no idea! What a promise that God delivered to His people! His brothers were sad and felt awful but Joseph’s reply showed what his anchor was set on. “But as for you, you meant evil against me; but God meant it for good, in order to bring it about as it is this day, to save many people alive.” Genesis 50:20 . God promised to preserve His people and He used Joseph to complete that purpose!

God works for the good of those who love Him. Things that come in our life may not always seem “good”, but God harmonizes them together for believers’ ultimate good, because His goal is to bring them to perfection in His presence. The words “working together” in this verse are active tense, so this is continually happening in our lives!

anchor33We sometimes go through hardships and shake our fist at the sky and yell at God. But He is working behind the scenes to show you how it will play out for your good. When my Mom passed away in 1994, I was eight years old. At that time I was sad but not mad at God because I didn’t understand what really was going on. But as I grew up and didn’t have that mother bond that all my friends had, I felt like I was missing out on a lot. I was unaware that because of this traumatic event my love for God would grow, I would meet my husband at a college I probably wouldn’t have been able to go to if she were still alive, and her death has made me strong in the Lord. My anchor holds in Him when times are tough because of that event, I know God will bring me through any more that come my way. But it’s during those hardships we must remember this promise- He works all things together for good to those that love Him!

Keep your head up, because above every stormy cloud is a blue sky. God wants to accomplish His purpose through whatever circumstance you are facing today. Pray and ask Him to guide your thoughts and steps as you try to see the silver lining!

2 thoughts on ““Had a bad day againnn.” Anchor of Promise #3”

  1. Good words today. I also think on this verse a lot. It’s a blessed relief to know that God knows the plans He has for me. I don’t need to sweat the small stuff, because it’s all working together for my good. Whether I like it or not!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

