Bible, existence, friend, help, I AM, love, meaning, Moses, names of God, universe, world

I AM

We all in some way or another have nicknames, pet names, even middle names to go along with our first name. Some of us even have a maiden name. For a while it was weird to hear people call me “Erin Blackwell” because I was “O’Neill” for so long..because that was my identity. Behind our names come origins an heritage that those names derived from.

I love that throughout the Bible, God has many different names and meanings. The one that I can always remember is “Jehovah Jireh my provider” because the church I grew up in had a song for it. (All my CFCF family probably is singing it now! haha!)

If I were to ask you, how many names of God do you know? Would you be able to tell me a few of His name’s and meanings?

Honestly for me I had to look up “the different names of God” and was amazed by how many names He goes by other than just well..God.

The one name that I love more than any other name that He goes by is “I AM”

In Exodus when God spoke to Moses through the burning bush, telling him to command Pharaoh to let His people go, Moses asked “If I tell them ‘the God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they say to me, ‘What is His name?’ what shall I say to them?” God’s replied “I AM who I AM.” Exodus 3:13-14

Basically “okay God if I tell them this, and they ask ‘who sent you?’ what do I tell them?” and I love how God answered “I AM who IAM sent you.” I’d love to see Moses’ puzzled expression.

When I read this several times that statement always confused me. For me, when I hear or use the phrase, “I AM” it is usually followed by an action “I am going to the store.” and so when I read this I felt like I missed something. Later I came to realize through Pastors and bible study that I AM is in a always present tense action. We cannot comprehend that before this world existed, God did.  But right now as you read this, He is at the beginning of creation, He is right now in your midst, and He is right now at the end of time. Hard to imagine but He is THE I AM.

 In John 8:56-58, Jesus is answering the criticism of the Jewish leaders. He says, “Your father Abraham rejoiced that he was to see my day; he saw it and was glad.” The Jews then said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly! I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”- (PursuingGod.org)

He claimed to be in existence before Abraham..which to the Jews at that time thought He was being blasphemous and mocking them. But what about you? Do you believe in God’s existence?

I came across a great lesson online that I’d like to share an excerpt on believing in “God” and that He exists.

He is like hydrogen. You learned once in school that it is in the air you breathe, but after that your belief in it has made no difference in your life. Every time someone takes a poll, you say, “Of course, hydrogen exists.” Then you return to things that matter.

Put yourself forward a few years to the day when every human being will give an account of himself before the living God. God will say to millions of people, “Now it is my understanding that you said often during your life that you believed in me. You affirmed my existence. Is that right?” “Yes.” “And is it not true that in your life the more honor and importance and virtue and power and beauty a person had, the more regard he was paid and the more respect he was shown and the more admiration he received? Is that not the case?” “Yes.” “Then why is it that I had such an insignificant place in your life since you say you believed in me? Why didn’t you feel more admiration for me and seek my wisdom more often and spend time in fellowship with me and strive to know the way I wanted you to make all your everyday decisions? Why did you treat me as though I were like hydrogen?”

What, I ask you, what is the world going to answer? What are thousands of so-called Christians going to answer, whose faith in God is virtually the same as their faith in hydrogen?- (DesiringGod.org)

What a humbling read. You see you can betray God with your words, but you can also betray Him with your silence. God is ever present, always has been and always will be. He never changes and wants us to stay close to Him and His word. The Bible has never stopped being authoritative. It is God breathed-inspired, and since He never changes, neither has His Word. That is why I love the name “I AM”. He is always present, never changing, and all knowing. I’d like to leave you with these beautiful song lyrics by Mark Schultz.

“I am the fount of living water
The risen Son of man
The healer of the broken
And when you cry
I am your savior and redeemer
Who bore the sins of man
The author and perfecter
Beginning and the end
I am” (I am- Mark Schultz)

Please comment one of the names and meaning of God! I’d love to hear your input!

Leave a Reply

