clay, gift, God, Jesus, lamp, light, pottery, shine

Pottery for 2 cents!

Have you ever had the experience to make a piece of pottery using a potter’s wheel? My Aunt Beth is an art teacher and also makes so many incredible pieces of art including pottery. One summer when I was in 6th or 7th grade, I was able to stay with her at her house for a few weeks. Her art studio is one I could stay in forever! She taught me how to make a few pieces of pottery and it was hard at first. I remember the one piece of pottery I finished on the wheel turned out exactly the way I wanted it. As she complimented me I got excited and accidentally tapped the pedal with my foot..the wheel spun and it flew across the room. I was so upset with my clumsy self, but she showed me that even though I thought it was destroyed, it could be molded into something else. Little did I know of how much Bible truth was in that!

If you think about pottery for a minute what comes to mind? It’s inexpensive, probably not the first piece picked on wedding registries, or even used for a fancy table setting. Pottery is talked about a lot in the Bible and here is just an except of a beautiful contrast Paul uses to his life and pottery.

2 Corinthians 4:7-18 is a passage where Paul tries to emphasize how much we already have in Jesus and how His glory should shine through us.

Pottery was bought for 1 – 2 copper coins in the Corinthian marketplace. And most often it was used as a receptacle for wick lamps. They were cheap and broke easily, but they fulfilled their purpose in holding the wick lamps.pottery

Paul says in verse 7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.” These pieces of pottery were not glamorous on their own. They could not emit their own light, but the lamp wicks that were on the inside of the pottery illuminated the vessel. When we have the Holy Spirit living inside us, He is the reason we shine. Sometimes we take the glory out of vanity when we do a service for someone or even as simple as writing a blog like this. It is Jesus who is speaking through me. My words are nothing without the power of the Holy Spirit using me to inspire you!

I love how Paul used this illustration to contrast us as believers of God. No one is perfect.God wants to use broken people like you and me so that HE shines through us. What an encouragement to know that I don’t have to be perfect or “have it all together” to be used mightily for the Lord. He is the one that molds us into a new creation and illuminates up our life with HIS LIGHT & GLORY!

Leave a Reply

