Bible, God, God's Will, Opportunity, prayer, Wisdom

When God starts shutting the door- watch your fingers!

My last post I wrote on Wisdom, because of how much God reveals our need for it.

I wanted to make this post short because there’s a lot I could write on this topic!

A year ago,  I cried out to God pleading, “Please Lord show me! Just write YES or NO in the sky!” and somehow I truly thought that kind of prayer was honorable or even going to be answered. Do I doubt that God could in fact do that?  No I don’t doubt His amazing power! But my heart behind the matter was lazy..I just wanted an answer I didn’t seek Him and diligently listen and read His word for my answer like He directs me in the Bible…Tonight a few facebook posts by friends were totally directed to my situation and I want to pass them on to you after I write this post.

When God closes doors to opportunities or to our “ideas” we might see it as a bad thing. But a perspective change could be that, the reason God shut a door of a so called “opportunity” was because He saw your outcome. He for one is the “I AM” ever present, so He sees you right now at your birth, He sees you right now reading this, he sees your future! He knows your heart better than you know yourself. He may have wanted to protect you from whatever outcome or person you would be with this “opportunity”. God may use a window of blessing that may be totally different then what was behind door #1.

I’ve heard the saying, if God shuts the door, look for an open window…that may be true and its a cute saying..but part of me would say..if God shuts the door, get on your knees and ask Him when you should move. He will direct your path to the very thing He created you to do! We live in a very fast paced world and want our answers now, but God tells us to keep making our requests known to Him.

Jeremiah 33:3- “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”

I absolutely love this verse, kinda gives me chills. God is so good and what may seem like the only avenue of blessing in our eyes..God never saw as His vision for you, or He may just be transitioning you to something greater. There is a season for everything (Ecclesiastes).

The question is are you willing to give up the reigns and allow Him to direct your journey to the blessings He ultimately had for you before you took a detour?

Facebook posts:

“Get Rich Quick. Count your blessings.”

“Sometimes God’s blessings are not in what He gives; But in what He takes away. HE KNOWS BEST.”

“Close some doors. Not because of pride, incapacity or arrogance, but simply because they no longer lead somewhere.”

2 thoughts on “When God starts shutting the door- watch your fingers!”

  1. Much wisdom here. I love that quote about closing doors because they no longer lead anywhere. Your “closed door/open window” is cute as you say, but it may lead to compromise and/or second best. I would guess God is not in the detour business, more apt to be “pray, wait, and see.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

