anger, Bible, God, happy, home, kids, parenting, raising kids, stress, stressful, toddlers

Mt. Saint Mom is gonna blow!

Guilty of my title…being a Mom of two toddlers, I tend to let the hulk come out in my reactions! Been there too?

I know no one is perfect and being consistent with your children is the right thing and hardest thing to do. Have you ever struggled with the thought of, ” My kids hate me all I do is yell and spank!” I have thought this over and over concerning my 3 yr old.

God has really gotten a hold of my heart about just how dangerous our reactions can be.

I looked up the word Anger in my dictionary (I know right? Who uses those anymore!? I do!) But this is what good ole Webster had to say about Anger.

Anger: is an emotional response to a perceived wrong or injustice.

We react when someone wrongs us or threatens us. That is our natural human flesh!

As a believer in Christ we are to put off the old man and be transformed in the renewing process the Holy Spirit brings in our life.  God says in Ephesians 4:26,31 that it can be “put away”. Anger is a choice and you have the control to not be angry!

When I react in anger because I feel threatened or hurt- it is unjustified and sinful.

I have a little booklet called “Your reactions are showing!” and it deals with the problem of anger and in it was this excerpt. ” Anger denies the power of God to care for your needs and hurts and can completely take over your life!”

Wow! Have you ever thought in your moment of anger, that you are denying the power of God!? I know I have not…MANY TIMES.

Going back to my reactions to my children…from this booklet I was able to get a new perspective of how I need to ACT instead of REACT.

A person who ACTS- knows who they are, what they believe, and how they should act! (Colossians 3:23,24) They not only know this information but CHOOSE to act on it. Another person’s actions do not dictate their reactions, but rather the wisdom of the Lord is their mainstay. (Colossians 3:16-17)

So either you are an actor or a reactor. When someone harms you ,what do you do? When we react in anger to someone wronging us, we are allowing them to control us. If your child yells at you, what is your reaction? If you yell back then they have just controlled you. As parents we have to be one step ahead of our kids. We need to realize they will react or act sinful because that is their nature. Instead of reacting, we (including myself) have to work on just acting. We are only controlled by God and therefore our actions will reveal his characteristics. Does that mean we don’t discipline and say “aww Johnny don’t do that again!” Not at all..actually if you read throughout the Bible God dealt with disciplining His children, but it was done JUSTLY..so actors will justly correct and not react in anger.

God is the perfect example to how we should act. Here are a few verses to help you if you struggle with this like I do at times.

Psalm 103:8- The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in mercy.

Psalm 78:38- He turned His anger away MANY times, and did not stir up ALL His wrath.

James 5:11b- that the Lord is very compassionate and merciful.

Remember this : {{anger is just one little letter away from danger.}}

Being a parent is one of the hardest jobDSC_4632s you just cannot prepare for. But it has its many blessings and if you feel like you are failing as a parent, keep your chin up! You may only see cloudy skies right now, but there’s always a blue sky above it. Seek out the Lord for wisdom and He will show you how to raise your kids! Keep at it don’t give up on yourself! Remember that He CHOSE YOU to be your kids’ parent. He entrusted you with them and knows how hard it is BUT He isn’t going to leave you to raise them on your own..He wants to help! Hang in there you may not feel super, but in your kids’ eyes you are Super Mom or Super Dad!!

Thank God for His daily grace and mercies! 🙂 Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

